8 Types Of Hackers

According to the EC-Council’s Certified Ethical Hacking 9 certification hackers can be classified into 8 categories

1. Black Hats

Individuals with extraordinary computing skills, resorting to malicious or destructive activities. These people are also known as crackers.

2. White Hats 

Individuals who profess hacking skills and use them for defensive purposes. They are also known as security analysts.

3. Grey Hats

Individuals who work both offensively and defensively at various times.

4. Suicide Hackers

Individuals whose goals are to bring down a critical infrastructure for a “cause”. These individuals are not worried about jail time or other forms of punishment

5. Script Kiddies

These are unskilled hackers who compromise systems by running scripting tools and software that are created by real hackers.

6. Cyber Terrorists 

Individuals with a wide range of skills. These individuals are motivated by religious or political beliefs to create fear by large scale disruption of computer networks.

7. State Sponsored Hackers 

individuals who are employed by the government to perpetrate and gain top- secret information and to damage information systems of other governments.

8. Hacktivist

Individuals who promote a particular political agenda by hacking. Especially by defacing or disabling websites

Read more: 8 Types Of Hackers

Story added 6. December 2018, content source with full text you can find at link above.