2012: #yearinreview, Part 1

2012: a year in which even Pope Benedict XVI started to Tweet his pontifications.

Dear friends, I am pleased to get in touch with you through Twitter. Thank you for your generous response. I bless all of you from my heart.

— Benedict XVI (@Pontifex) December 12, 2012

Like it or not, Twitter is the place where important conversations are happening.

And so we present to you our 2012: #yearinreview via @mikko‘s Tweets. Part 1 — January to June:

January 3, 2012

Q: How many of the Fortune 500 are compromised? A: 500.

— Mikko Hypponen (@mikko) January 3, 2012

January 9, 2012

Government must be watching me. I’ve been checking Google Maps for a year and the same white van has been parked outside my house EVERY DAY.

— Mikko Hypponen (@mikko) January 9, 2012

January 15, 2012

“cl0wned” [cləʊned], adjective. Definition: description of what you are once your cloud service gets 0wned.

— Mikko Hypponen (@mikko) January 15, 2012

January 26, 2012

So…why are traffic cones shaped after the VLC logo?

— Mikko Hypponen (@mikko) January 26, 2012

January 30, 2012

Hey @skype, do you guys have any idea how the US authorities gained access to the Skype chat logs between Megaupload employees?

— Mikko Hypponen (@mikko) January 30, 2012

February 4, 2012

Out of all the possible parties, it’s the *entertainment industry* that is working hardest to bring us internet censorship. What the hell.

— Mikko Hypponen (@mikko) February 4, 2012

February 12, 2012

I wonder how many VoIP support calls end abruptly when the tech support asks the user to reboot the modem.

— Mikko Hypponen (@mikko) February 12, 2012

March 21, 2012

Try ‘ping 192.168.XXX‘ Then explain why it works. #nice

— Mikko Hypponen (@mikko) March 21, 2012

April 5, 2012

Oh boy, I’m so glad my work laptop runs Windows. So I don’t have to worry about all those OS X trojans.

— Mikko Hypponen (@mikko) April 5, 2012

April 7, 2012

Now that USA Today is linking to our Flashback removal instructions, I can imagine old people in Kansas typing grep -a -o ‘ldpath[ -~]*’

— Mikko Hypponen (@mikko) April 7, 2012

April 12, 2012

“Please choose another password to create your account. The password you attempted is already used by user JENKINS.”

— Mikko Hypponen (@mikko) April 12, 2012

April 22, 2012

General: “So, how do we get Stuxnet 2 in Iran?” Sergeant: “Let’s crash an infected drone there? They’ll surely try to reverse engineer it”

— Mikko Hypponen (@mikko) April 22, 2012

June 6, 2012

LinkedIn must be making a small fortune from the ad traffic today, as *everyone* logs in to change their password.

— Mikko Hypponen (@mikko) June 6, 2012

June 8, 2012

I know what I’ll do. I’ll add an AUTORUN.INF to all my USB sticks. When run, it will just turn off AutoRun and exit.

— Mikko Hypponen (@mikko) June 8, 2012

June 8, 2012

So…I wonder if Microsoft is going to issue one of their $250,000 bounties to track the authors of Flame? And if not, why not?

— Mikko Hypponen (@mikko) June 8, 2012

June 9, 2012

Cyberwar. What a strange game. The only winning move is not to play.

— Mikko Hypponen (@mikko) June 9, 2012

June 11, 2012

If Flame was done in USA, it would mean that Microsoft Update was hacked by a US Goverment Agency. Microsoft must be mad as hell.

— Mikko Hypponen (@mikko) June 11, 2012

June 21, 2012

Nuclear physics lost its innocence in 1945. Computer science lost its innocence in 2009.#stuxnet

— Mikko Hypponen (@mikko) June 21, 2012

June 28, 2012

iPhone is 5 years old today. After 5 years, not a single serious malware case. It’s not just luck; we need to congratulate Apple on this.

— Mikko Hypponen (@mikko) June 28, 2012

On 19/12/12 At 10:12 AM

Read more: 2012: #yearinreview, Part 1

Incoming search terms

Story added 19. December 2012, content source with full text you can find at link above.